Skip to main content

Ebooks @ Memorial Library

Our guide for downloading eBooks to a variety of devices. Includes helpful tips for fully utilizing our eBook collection!

Free?

 
How are these books free?
  • When a book goes out of copyright,  the text can be available for anyone to use.
  • Some ebooks are free with permission from authors/publishers.

Comprehensive Collections

Free eBook Collections with a Focus

More About Internet Archive

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable ebooks and texts. These books are in the public domain - no longer (or never) in copyright in the United States.

There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern ebooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account. Books in this collection may be borrowed by logged in patrons for a period of two weeks.  You may read the books online in your browser, or download them into Adobe Digital Editions, This Open Libraries project uses “controlled digital lending” or CDL, which allows libraries to loan digitized books to digital patrons in a “lend like print” model. Through CDL, libraries maintain an “owned-to-loaned” ratio - the library circulates the exact number of copies of a title that it owns, regardless of format, and prevents users from redistributing or copying the digitized version. 

On March 19, 2020, Internet Archive announced the National Emergency Library - a COVID-19-triggered decision to eliminate CDL on its in-copyright holdings. Smithsonian Magazine has a helpful overview article about "Why the National Emergency Library is So Controversial." In an effort to offer Berry students and faculty working remotely the best possible substitute for our own print collection and the print collections of the hundreds of libraries we collaborate with via interlibrary loan, Memorial Library has added the National Emergency Library to our catalog - when you search, you'll find these titles have a Held by Berry College Memorial Library tag, the same way the ebooks we pay for do.