LibGuides: Newspapers @ Memorial Library: Historical Newspapers

Georgia

Atlanta Constitution Historical (page images, ProQuest), 1868-1984 Full-text and full-image articles for the Atlanta Constitution from 1868-1984.
Georgia Historic Newspapers GHN includes some of the state’s earliest newspapers; important African-American, Roman Catholic, and Cherokee newspapers; and issues from Augusta, Atlanta, Columbus, Fayetteville, Houston county, Louisville, Thomson, Sandersville, Waycross, and Waynesboro.
Wikipedia List of Online Newspaper Archives: Georgia

Georgia: Rome/Floyd County

Floyd County Press (1984) At Google News archive.
Georgia Historic Newspapers: North Georgia
Rome Daily Courier (1881-1882) At Google News archive.
Rome News Tribune (1951-2008) At Google News archive.
Rome Tribune-Herald (1910-1916) At Google News archive.

The Rome Branch of the Sara Hightower Regional Library has Rome historical newspapers on microfilm:

The Rome News (1920-1921)
Rome News-Tribune (1923-6 months ago) Microfilm, in Special Collections.

New York Times

NYTimes.com (online) Current Berry College students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to nytimes.com. Activate an academic pass on campus or off campus! Go to accessnyt.com and type in the school name. Then use your Berry email address to register.
New York Times (text only, ProQuest), 1980-present Transcribed full text, 1980 - present. Does not include page images.
New York Times Historical (page images, ProQuest), 1851-2017 Full-image/pdf access. Cover-to-cover access including graphics, photographs, advertisements, maps, etc., as well as all editorials and columns.

U.S. Newspaper Collections

Chronicling America
Digitized historic newspapers from 1756-1963.
Historical Newspapers@Ancestry Library
Full text newspapers back to 1600, although most papers are from the 19th & 20th centuries. On campus access only.
Google News Archive
An extension of Google News that provides free access to scanned archives of newspapers. Google discontinued the project in 2011.
Newspapers.com
Access to historic newspapers from the 1700s to the present.The database is free to search, but most articles are behind a pay wall.

Selected Specialized U.S. Newspapers

Brooklyn Newsstand (1841-1955) Includes the Brooklyn Daily Eagle, one of the most widely read afternoon newspapers in the United States during the Civil War.
Farm, Field and Fireside Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Understanding Hate in America: White Nationalism in the Press in the 1920s Includes papers promoting as well as those opposing white nationalism. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the U.S. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic, and Jewish organizations. Many titles are behind a pay wall.
Southern Courier (1965-1968) Weekly local coverage of the people, places, and events that shaped the civil rights movement in the American South.

Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window Explore over 300 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.

Stars and Stripes (1942-1964) Europe, Mediterranean, and North Africa Editions. Printed specifically for the armed forces and reported on the progress of the war, activities of the U.S. troops, and news from the home front (including sports, comics, and editorials). On campus access only.
Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) The official newspaper of Virginia, printed in Williamsburg 1736-1780.
The Silent Worker (1888-1929) A popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States during the end of the 1890's through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press (1855-2004) Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications from Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico.

International Newspapers

Australian Newspapers (1803-1954) Trove's digitized Australian newspapers provides numerous historical Australian newspapers published between 1803 to 1954. It includes national titles as well as those published in each Australian state and territory. It supports browsing by title, date and location as well as searches. Articles and pages can be printed and downloaded and citations are provided.
Belgian Newspapers Online (1814-1970) Access to 101 Belgian newspapers referred to as "major newspapers", most of which appeared daily (1814-1970).
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.
more...less...
Titles included are North China Herald (1850-1941), Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), The China Press (1925-1938), China Weekly Review (1917-1953), Chinese Recorder (1868-1940), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919, Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
Globe and Mail (Toronto, 1844-2014) The archive of The Globe and Mail captures 165 years of history dating from the newspapers first edition in 1844 as The Globe. Every edition is digitized from first page to last, capturing even the tiniest elements in news stories, photographs, maps, ads, classifieds, political cartoon, birth and death notices, etc.
Hemeroteca Digital (National Library of Spain, 1623-2020) 143 titles which comprise 500.000 pages representing a wide variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, technical, literary, sports, religious, etc., ranging from 1772 to 1933. A mixture of free full text and items behind a pay wall.
Illustrated London News (1861-1865) The Civil War in America from the Illustrated London News.
Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859-2016) Initially established as a Protestant nationalist newspaper, in the 1870s it took on unionist leanings and in modern times presents a politically liberal and progressive perspective.
Jerusalem Post‎ (1932-2008) Founded as The Palestine Post in 1932, during the British Mandate of Palestine; changed its name to The Jerusalem Post in 1950. Initially regarded as left-wing, the paper underwent a shift to the right in the late 1980s and has taken a more centrist position in more recent years.
Korea Times (1956-2016) The oldest of three English-language newspapers published daily in South Korea, founded five months into the 1950-53 Korean War.
The Scotsman (1817-1950) Launched in Edinburgh in 1817 as a liberal weekly newspaper, began daily publication in 1855.
South China Morning Post‎ (Hong Kong, 1903-1998) A Hong Kong English-language newspaper and Hong Kong's newspaper of record. Founded in 1903, one year after the establishment of the Republic of China.
The Times (London, 1788-1833) Historical archive of The Times from 1788-1833 from Ancestry.com. On campus access only.
The Times of India (Mumbai, 1838-2008) The oldest English-language newspaper in India still in circulation, with its first edition published in 1838
Toronto Star‎ (1894-2015) Created in 1892 by striking Toronto News printers and writers, now one Canada's highest-circulation newspapers.

Tools for Finding Historical Newspapers

Online Historical Newspapers
An index to online historical newspapers. A few international newspapers, but primarily US. Organized by state & county.
U.S. Newspaper Directory
Find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Limit search by state/county/city, language, ethnicity, and, in the case of newspapers for workers, type of labor. Holding libraries are listed, but there are no links to full text.
Wikipedia List of Online Newspaper Archives
Includes both free and pay wall blocked digital archives. Search by country and state/province. Includes links to obituary and clippings files. Does not include titles in Chronicling America or fee-based products such as Newspapers.com.
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON)
From the Center for Research Libraries, ICON highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers.