Topographical and geologic maps of the United States plus the National Map, a suite of products and services that provide access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories.
Links to online maps of current and general interest; historical maps; continent, country, state, and city maps; cartographic reference resources; a bibliography of other geography-related sites; and much more.
Images & Video
Humanities
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogPhotographs, prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
National Archives CatalogTo search for images, choose "Advanced Search." Under "Search fields for Archival Descriptions," you may either limit the "Type of Archival Materials" to "Photographs and Other Graphic Material," or you may limit the "File Format of Archival Materials" to "Image."
Naval History and Heritage Command Image CollectionPhotos are related to the US Navy with specific emphasis on ships, aviation, places, wars/events, activities, and significant individuals associated with naval history. Photographs reflect both official and unofficial naval viewpoints and consist of donations and transfers made by both the Navy and the general public. The general date range of the collection consists of mid-19th century to the 1990s, with particular focus on the World War II era.
US Senate Art & HistorySearch through paintings, sculptures, furniture, and graphic art relating to U.S. history and the U.S. Senate.
Medicine
National Cancer Institute Visuals OnlineA range of photographs and illustrations intended to help communicators of medical and public health convey meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories. The collection spans everything from biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images to portraits of the staff of the National Cancer Institute.
Prints & Photographs from the National Library of MedicineThe prints and photographs collection contains images dating from the 15th to the 21st century. The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine. Most types of printmaking are represented: woodcuts, engravings, etchings, mezzotints, aquatints, and lithographs. Also included in the collection are illustrations from the historical book collection.
NASA Image GalleriesConsolidates imagery spread across 60 collections into one searchable locations. Users can embed content in their own sites and choose from multiple resolutions, including the original size, to download.
NOAA Photo LibraryThousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from whales to the most minute plankton.
