Notes from User Services Team Meeting
December 17, 2014
Attending: Jeremy Worsham, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Som Linthicum,
Amanda Mays,
- Jeremy sought consensus from the group for establishing the parameters of Recall feature in WMS. Group felt that 2 weeks was an appropriate time frame for the return of a recalled item. Fines for items not returned within that time limit have yet to be set and will require discussion at a Management Group meeting.
- Amanda asked for feedback regarding initiating a fine/fee system and the blocking/expiring of ILL patrons who do not return loaned materials. A possible plan/procedure was discussed and how it might be implemented at the Service Desk. Based on the group’s input, Amanda will document a process to be discussed at Management Group.
- Michael shared that Memorial Library’s 90th Anniversary was coming up in 2016 and urged the User Services team to begin thinking about possible celebration displays.
- Michael is working on a Training protocol to prepare other User Services staff members to serve as his backup in Archives. He expects the plan to be completed by the end February 2015.
- The new Hours widget is now up and running on the Library homepage.
- Jessica sought input in regard to possibly re-ordering and or re-naming the navigation bar choices on the homepage as well as any other potential changes the group would like to see on the homepage.
- Jessica debuted the new Archives page which is now up and running on the library’s website and looks spectacular!
- In mid-January our lobby television will be replaced by a digital signage board managed by the college.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
November 19, 2014
Attending: Jeremy Worsham, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Som Linthicum,
Steve Head, Amanda Mays, Dylan Moran
- Regarding reference coverage for library extended hours on December 5 and 6, it was decided to cover Virtual Reference as normal and monitor desk traffic on Friday and Saturday evenings to ascertain the need for future desk coverage during these hours.
- The necessity of communicating information on the status of open pending VR tickets in LibApps was discussed. Jessica and Som will work on step-by-step procedures for transferring tickets, leaving internal notes, closing tickets, etc that should help enhance communication and efficiency.
- FAQ regarding reasons why we are not open 24 Hours is still under development but almost ready.
- New procedures regarding how to circulate unbarcoded materials have been established for Service Desk student workers, etc. Michelle will distribute to entire staff via email.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
November 5, 2014
Attending: Jeremy Worsham, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Som Linthicum,
Steve Head, Amanda Mays, Dylan Moran
- We discussed the proposed “Parent” Informational letter regarding library services especially as it relates to assisting freshman students. The group unanimously supported Sherre’s suggestion to add it to the Soar guidebook and to Soar parent packets next summer.
- In response to a student/parental request, Som and Steve have volunteered to be our “sub-committee” to work on options for some additional “distraction-free” study space with computer availability. We will discuss this again at our next meeting.
- Steve has invited staff to participate in a shelf-reading workday at the Music Library on Thursday, November 13 from 2-4pm.
- Sherre’s draft of an FAQ to address why we are not open 24 hours was discussed. The staff was supportive of the document but it was suggested that we try to isolate 3 main points for student worker and staff to hit upon when explaining our policy to patrons. Jessica Hornbuckle will work on adapting Sherre’s draft to reflect these 3 points and bring it back to our next meeting for further discussion.
- Student/Staff Holiday Party this year will be a lunch at Bella Roma on Saturday, November 15 from 11 am to 1 pm.
- Michelle and Jeremy feel strongly that we should attempt to move all technology lending to the Library Lab for the upcoming spring semester. As our inventory of lending technology continues to increase it is becoming unwieldy to manage it effectively from the Service Desk. We believe the more controlled environment of the Lab will allow for more specialized training of workers and better attention to detail throughout the lending process. We will continue to explore our options for acquiring secure storage space for all technology in the Lab.
- Dylan expressed a need for clarification regarding Overdue Technology fines and the policy regarding the return time of 4 hour laptops. Since Michelle started at the Service Desk 2+ years ago, the policy regarding 4 hour laptop returns has always been somewhat murky. The original intent, as evidenced by the labeling on the laptops themselves, indicates that these laptops were to be returned to the Service Desk before closing regardless of when they were checked out. The problems seem to stem from Voyagers limitations/problems assigning due dates and times, determining hours closed and the assessment of fines. It became more expedient and less of a headache for the Desk to simply override due dates to the next time we were open. WMS has shared similar issues until recently and does not assess fines on late items until it know s the library is open. Jeremy tells us that WMS may now be able to automatically assign a due date on 4 hour laptops that fall 15 minutes before closing on whichever day they are checked out. The group decided to table the issue until our next meeting to evaluate all our laptop lending times and possibly make changes, based at least in part on what some of our peer institutions are doing and what new capabilities WMS may now have. In the meantime, in order to meet patron demand and address a current shortage of laptops available, Michelle will be changing two of the 4 hour laptops to 24 hours. The group also unanimously supported changing the lending Macbook to a 4 hour instead of a 24 hour laptop. Michelle will make this change as soon as possible.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
October 22, 2014
Attending: Jeremy Worsham, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Som Linthicum,
Steve Head, Amanda Mays, Dylan Moran
- Sherre has compiled a draft of a staff index listing designating primary areas of responsibility for all library staff. She has asked that everyone look at it and “sign off” that they have read and agree with the areas stipulated. User Services had some questions about some of the areas and have decided to look at the document on an individual basis and bring any questions back for discussion at our meeting on November 5.
- Extended hours prior to and during exam weeks were discussed as they apply to the Spring 2015 Operational Calendar. Saturday hours will be extended until 10pm two weeks prior to and during exam week. Extending Friday hours until 10pm was discussed for the two Fridays prior to and during exam week but a consensus opinion could not be reached at this time. We are already going to try extending hours until 10pm this semester on Friday, December 5. The group decided to evaluate library use during these extended hours by doing hourly building counts for the hours between 5 and 10pm in addition to the total gate count for that day. We will use this information to help make a decision on Spring 2015 extended hours.
- The first meeting of student nominees for the new Teams Initiative Project will be Friday, October 24, 2014 at 2pm.
- Sandbox Faculty Orientation sessions begin this week with 3, 8 am sessions currently scheduled.
- WMS working on several new Beta Reports that should be very helpful. One set has already been released and another will be released in the near future.
- Michelle will take our draft of a “Parent Letter” to Management Group for evaluation at our October 26 meeting.
- A late night student supervisor requested that we draft an FAQ to address the frequently asked question of “why we are not open 24 hours.” User Services felt this was a good idea but deferred this one to Sherre and the Management Group to articulate a policy defense.
- Steve is working on scheduling a meeting between the Music department and Library Staff. Music Library student staff report high checkout rate for the currently uncatalogued Broadway musical collection and we will suggest to Music Library faculty that these may need to be moved up the queue for cataloging. Cheryl and Jeremy both feel that this collection in small and should probably take no more than two days to catalog, given no unforeseen difficulties.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
October 8, 2014
Attending: Jeremy Worsham, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Som Linthicum, Steve Head
- Michelle/Amanda/Michael gave an update on the Student Work Supervisors meeting including information about the new campus-wide Teams Initiative Project.( Collection Services served as one of the beta teams for a test run last year.) Each library department who employs student workers will be required to name at least one student to serve on the Teams Initiative Project. Student’s chosen will be paid for any time spent working on the project and excused from any existing work shifts if they are found to conflict with scheduled meetings with Project leaders.
- The new Reference Ready location for style guides was discussed and the proposed use of a Reference Ready prefix rather than creating a totally new location was received very favorably by the User Services team.
- The protocols that Amanda had prepared for placing items “On Display” were discussed and approved, with a small change regarding the necessity of entering a temporary item location. Amanda will make this slight adjustment and then send them on to Sherre and Management Group.
- Fall Break schedules were discussed and both student and staff coverage is in place for ILL, Archives, and the Service Desk. (As an addendum; following the meeting via email the need for librarian reference coverage at the Service Desk during the Monday and Tuesday of Fall break was discussed. It was proposed that there was probably no need for anything more than Virtual Reference coverage before 5pm on both days, and hearing no nays, presumably approved.)
- Fall Break hours are as follows:
Saturday & Sunday – Closed
Monday – 8 am to 5 pm
Tuesday – 8 am to 2 am
Music Library and CMC are closed on Monday and Tuesday
- The “Parent Letter” draft prepared by Som and Jessica was discussed and while the entire team agreed that the letter aptly conveyed our desired message, there were some concerns about whether it was appropriate or advisable to send such a letter directly to parents. It was decided that he letter at least merited being conveyed by Jeremy and Michelle to the Management Group for further discussion.
- We will be re-naming library printers to more accurately convey their location in the building (i.e. LibLab Color instead of Counter Connections) over Christmas Break. The entire process involves individually re-mapping printers on every workstation in the building once the name change is complete. Needless to say it is a big job for IT and they felt that Christmas Break would be the best time to accomplish the task.
- We will be offering several drop-in morning Sandbox orientation sessions for the faculty in the near future, exact dates TBA.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
September 18, 2014
Attending: Dylan Moran, Jeremy Worsham, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton,
Som Linthicum, Steve Head
- Protocols/Procedures were discussed in the event a Reference Librarian has to miss an evening shift due to illness. Generally speaking, the Librarian is urged to find a replacement if possible but in those cases where there is not sufficient time to do so, other available staff will cover virtual reference and Student Service Staff will refer any questions to available Librarians.
- Public Services Student worker has started on training instructions for the Sandbox and Jeremy will finalize as soon as possible
- Technology Group anticipates offering a staff training on Sandbox technologies in the near future.
- There is now a money box and money log book in the Library Lab Service Desk for accepting payment for laminating, copying, and poster printing.
- Scannx machines still unable to send scans directly to the printers but Jenny is working on a solution.
- Reference Librarians request that Service Desk student workers call to confirm they are in their offices and give them a heads-up before sending a student to find them. Michelle will convey this information verbally and post a message on the blog to that effect.
- New missing/lost procedures are finalized. The link is available online at www.berry.edu/library/missingitem.
- Dylan reports the night shift is going well and that the Sandbox is always filled to capacity in the evenings.
- Campbell School of Business plans to visit the Sandbox on September 24 for a meeting and demonstration of the lecture-capture capabilities.
- A training session is planned for Library Service Desk student workers on Saturday, September 27 from 10:30 am – 12 pm.
- Large overhead signs are hung and 3 Plexiglas 8 ½ x 11 signs have been hung in the Library Lab giving payment instructions for laminating, posters, and copying.
- Michelle will be gone on vacation October 1-3.
- User Services will have bi-weekly meetings on the Wednesday afternoons opposite weeks from Collection Development meetings. Due to vacation and conference schedules, our next meeting will be Wednesday, October 8 at 1pm.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
September 4, 2014
Attending: Dylan Moran, Jeremy Worsham, Amanda Mays, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton, Som Linthicum, Maureen Morgan
- Maureen attended our meeting to discuss preferred format for journal summary statement s in Worldcat. Mixed holdings, as well as Microfilm and Bound journal summary statements were discussed and formats approved. JSTOR holdings with moving five year “wall” summary discussed but no definitive conclusion. Current summary for JSTOR says “Current Five Years Held”
- Michelle reports LibAnswers Service Desk form for student workers/staff to report transactions is up and running.
- Michele is proposing a training session for Service Desk Student Workers on September 20.
- Michelle plans to begin using a money box to accept payments for copies, laminating and poster printing in the Library Lab beginning on Monday, Sept. 8.
- Jeremy reports Poster Printer is now installed on computer workstation nearest to the device.
- Jeremy reports final puzzle piece received today from OCLC to get our off-line circulation module installed at the Service Desk. He hopes to have this done soon.
- Signage needed in Library Lab on several devices and to give instructions for payments. Command strips or picture frames suggested as an alternative to taping anything to our newly redone walls. Michelle will discuss with Jenny.
- Moving Technology Lending to the Library Lab will be delayed until secure storage locations for all devices can be obtained. Some equipment, including our seven new video camera kits will require significant space.
- Dylan reports night shift going well despite a couple cranky printers. He requested clarification on use of technology in the Sandbox during the evening hours. A discussion ensued regarding how much, if any sound was permissible. No definitive conclusion reached but generally agreed upon that low volume sound on new technology was most likely OK, provided it was not disturbing to other patrons.
- Michelle and Jeremy were contacted by Terry Sills regarding possibly having Bits students work in the library during evening hours. Michelle will contact her and advise of available 12 –2am shifts.
- Michelle reports that progress has been made toward finalizing a Missing/Lost procedure. Proposal will be made at the Management Group meeting on Monday and should it be approved, it will be brought before User Services for suggestions/clarifications.
- Reference coverage during Amanda’s upcoming vacation was discussed and all shifts are covered, with Amanda volunteering to return the favor by taking shifts for her fellow librarians upon her return.
- User Services agreed to attempt a bi-weekly meeting schedule. Time/dates yet to be determined.
Notes from User Services Team Meeting
August 19, 2014
Attending: Jeremy Worsham, Amanda Mays, Michael O’Malley, Jessica Hornbuckle, Michelle Horton,
Som Linthicum, Steve Head
- Som has completed a draft of the Reference Service Desk Schedule
- Virtual reference hours will be Monday – Friday, 7:30am – 10pm, Saturday and Sunday, 10am – 10 pm
- Steve is coordinating Viking Venture visit to the library on Friday, August 22
- Steve met with First year mentors and a building tour was given highlighting changes and popular/heavy use areas. BCC classes this year will focus more on virtual librarianship; our website, etc.
- Banned Books week is in September and Steve will coordinate a display
- Jessica Hornbuckle is working on populating our FAQ’s with frequently asked questions
- Protocols for Archives Ultra Quiet Reading Room were discussed. We will continue with current food and drink policy and the night supervisor will monitor.
- Amanda will be in Switzerland September 9-21. Som and Michelle will serve as contact points for ILL student workers as needed.
- Amanda is working on an ILL presentation for Staff for October.
